FIFA World Cup 2022 Groups

FIFA World Cup features a total of 8 groups with each group consisting of 4 sides. Among the 211 nations who play in the qualifier stage, only 32 confirm their place for the final stage. Qualified teams are drawn into different pots based on their rankings and belonging zones or Confederations. The groups are named: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, and H. Each team takes on the other 3 counterparts of the same group. Thus there are 6 games per group and a total of 48 group stage fixtures. After the end of the group stage, 2 top sides from each group qualify for the Round of 16. Here we will present you with the FIFA World Cup 2022 Groups. FIFA WORLD CUP 2022 FIXTURE.

FIFA World Cup 2022 Groups

Group A:

Berth Team Confederation
A1 Qatar Host/AFC
A3 Senegal CAF
A4 Netherlands UEFA

Group B:

Berth Team Confederation
B1 England UEFA
B2 Iran AFC
B4 European Play-Off Winner UEFA

Group C:

Berth Team Confederation
C1 Argentina CONMEBOL
C2 Saudi Arabia AFC
C4 Poland UEFA

Group D:

Berth Team Confederation
D1 France UEFA
D2 Inter-Continental Play-Off Winner 1 CONMEBOL/AFC
D3 Denmark UEFA
D4 Tunisia CAF

Group E:

Berth Team Confederation
E1 Spain UEFA
E2 Inter-Continental Play-Off Winner 2 CONCACAF/OFC
E3 Germany UEFA
E4 Japan AFC

Group F:

Berth Team Confederation
F1 Belgium UEFA
F3 Morocco CAF
F4 Croatia UEFA

Group G:

Berth Team Confederation
G2 Serbia UEFA
G3 Switzerland UEFA
G4 Cameroon CAF

Group H:

Berth Team Confederation
H1 Portugal UEFA
H2 Ghana CAF
H4 Korea Republic AFC

Generally, a group features 4 sides from 4 different Confederations only except the groups where 2 European sides are drawn against each other along with 2 other sides from 2 different Confederations. The top 7 sides according to FIFA Rankings or performance in the recent World Cups along with the host country are seeded s the topsides for each group. The same system applies for the next 8 sides and next and next. FIFA WORLD CUP 2022 STANDING TABLE.

Among the 32 teams, 13 berths are reserved for European teams (UEFA), 5 for CAF, 4 for CONMEBOL and AFC each, 3 berths for CONCACAF, and 1 berth is automatic for the host nation. While the other 2 places are grabbed by the winners of intercontinental play-offs between the best OFC side and additional sides from AFC, CONMEBOL, and CONCACAF.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *