UEFA Euro Winners List (1960 – 2020)

It is the primary association football competition contested by the senior men’s national teams of the members of the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA), determining the continental champion of Europe. This tournament takes place every four years and it is the second biggest international event in the world, only the FIFA World Cup has more viewers. The winners are awarded a replica of the trophy (the original remains with UEFA), while the losing finalists and semi-finalists are presented with a plaque. Gold and silver medals are awarded to the players of the winning and losing finalists respectively.

UEFA Euro Past Winners

The most recent championship, hosted by France in 2016, was won by Portugal, who beat France 1–0 in the final at the Stade de France in Saint-Denis after extra time. The final also averaged 284 million viewers which is the second most-viewed game in European tournament history.

Year Winner Runner-up Host(s)
2020 Italy England 11 Countries
2016 Portugal France France
2012 Spain Italy Poland & Ukraine
2008 Spain Germany Austria & Switzerland
2004 Greece Portugal Portugal
2000 France Italy Belgium & Netherlands
1996 Germany Czech Republic England
1992 Denmark Germany Sweden
1988 Netherlands Soviet Union West Germany
1984 France Spain France
1980 West Germany Belgium Italy
1976 Czechoslovakia West Germany Yugoslavia
1972 West Germany Soviet Union Belgium
1968 Italy Yugoslavia Italy
1964 Spain Soviet Union Spain
1960 Soviet Union Yugoslavia France

Last 3 UEFA Euro winners

2016 – Portugal

It was held in France from 10 June to 10 July 2016. For the first time, the 15th UEFA European Championship final tournament was contested by 24 teams, having been expanded from the 16-team format used since 1996. France was chosen as the host nation on 28 May 2010. After a bidding process in which they beat Italy and Turkey for the right to host the 2016 finals. It was the third time that France hosted the finals. Portugal won the tournament for the first time, following a 1–0 victory after extra time over with France. As the winners, Portugal earned the right to compete at the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia.

2012 – Spain

2012 Euro was the 14th European Championship for men’s national football teams organized by UEFA. Held between 8 June and 1 July 2012 and was co-hosted for the first time by Poland and Ukraine. The two host teams qualified automatically while the remaining 14 finalists were decided through a qualifying competition, featuring 51 teams. Euro 2012 was played at eight venues, four in each host country. Five new stadiums were built for the tournament. The first team to win two consecutive European Championships was Spain.

2008 – Spain

Hosted by Austria and Switzerland  UEFA Euro 2008 or simply Euro 2008 was the 13th UEFA European Championship. It took place from 7 to 29 June 2008 and both were hosting the tournament for the first time. defeating Germany 1–0 in final Spain won the tournament.Spain became European champions for the second time after Fernando Torres’ first-half goal proved enough to defeat Germany. Though Germany had a strong start, Spain started to look more dangerous after they had settled.

Who has the most European Championship titles? Here’s a list:

Team  Winner Runners-up
 Germany 3 (1972, 1980, 1996) 3 (1976, 1992, 2008)
 Spain 3 (1964, 2008, 2012) 1 (1984)
 Italy 2 (1968, 2020) 2 (2000, 2012)
 France 2 (1984, 2000) 1 (2016)
 Soviet Union 1 (1960) 3 (1964, 1972, 1988)
 Czech Republic 1 (1976) 1 (1996)
 Portugal 1 (2016) 1 (2004)
 Netherlands 1 (1988)
 Denmark 1 (1992)
 Greece 1 (2004)


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *