FIFA World Cup 2022 Probable Golden Glove Winner

The Golden Glove is presented to the best goalkeeper of the FIFA World Cup. FIFA introduced this award as the “Lev Yashin Award” in 1994 with the name of legendary Soviet goalkeeper. From the 2010 South Africa WC, it’s been known as the “Golden Glove”. In fact, the award is won the best goalkeeper of the competition based on the individual performance, team’s success, number of clean sheets, number of crucial saves as well as impact on the game. There are plenty of worthy contenders for the 2022 FIFA WC Golden Glove Award. Let’s see which guys have the huge probability of grabbing it.

Probable Candidates for the FIFA WC 2022 Golden Glove Award

Goalkeeper’s Name Country Current Club
Gianluigi Donnarumma Italy Paris Saint-Germain
Thibaut Courtois Belgium Real Madrid
Manuel Neuer Germany Bayern Munich
Alisson Becker Brazil Liverpool
Emiliano Martinez Argentina Aston Villa
Hugo Lloris France Tottenham Hotspur
Ederson Moraes Brazil Manchester City
Unai Simon Spain Athletic Bilbao
Jordan Pickford England Everton
Kasper Schmeichel Denmark Leicester City
Yann Sommer Switzerland Borussia Monchengladbach
Rui Patricio Portugal AS Roma

Gianluigi Donnarumma:

After a brilliant UEFA European Championship campaign, Gigi Donnarumma is probably the most reliable goalkeeper in the world at the moment. The former AC Milan sensation has proven himself as the best successor for Gigi Buffon. Donnarumma was not only the best keeper of the UEFA Euro 2020 but also won the tournaments’ best player award and also became the first keeper in the history to win back to back shootouts within a single Euro campaign. Although currently has to share his spot in the starting XI at PSG with highly experienced Keylor Navas, the Italian number one will simply be one of the best GKs heading to the Qatar WC.

Thibaut Courtois:

The Belgian 6 feet 6 inch tall who is also known as “The Giraffe” due to his serious height, won the Golden Glove Award in the Russia World Cup. His heroics in the quarterfinal was enough to confirm the home ticket for the 5 times world champion Brazil. Courtois has been in top form for Real Madrid in the recent seasons and he was the main reason behind Los Blancos’ 2020-21 La Liga victory. The former Chelsea stopper will be one of the key players for Belgium and will be definitely a serous contender for the alluded award.

Manuel Neuer:

Another former winner of the award. The Germany national team skipper has been one of the best goalies in the world since the 2010 WC. Due to his mammoth complexion and outrageous performances he can be described as the wall. Neuer helped Germany winning the 2014 WC and will be hoping to repeat those performances for the one last time in Qatar. The Bayern Munich captain will be certainly many people’s bet for this award.

Alisson Becker & Ederson Moraes:

When many of the countries are searching for one world class goalkeeper, Brazil has come out with having 2 of those gems. Alisson Becker and Ederson Moraes, possibly the two best stoppers in the Premier League play in Liverpool and Man City respectively. As they are rival in the EPL, the two compatriots also have to fight against each other to secure the first choice spot in Tite’s team. Both of them have been winning the EPL Golden Gloves between themselves and they do have the capability to win this award but if the Brazil boss goes with his rotation style which he did during the Copa America 2021, then the possibility of winning this award will certainly decrease for both of them.

Emiliano Martinez:

He is the one who doesn’t play for a club featuring in the European competitions but perhaps this guy is the bravest among all of them. Haters may call him “Mr. Big Mouth” but Emi has already proved what he really is. The Aston Villa sensation was one of the main reasons to help Leo Messi breaking the international trophy drought. And since then, Martinez has become more and more confident and is putting on master class performances so often. Argentina had to suffer a lot after the Romero days but Emi brought in the solution for the Albicelestes and will be definitely a key player for them in Qatar.

Hugo Lloris:

Although the Tottenham gloveman hasn’t been able to win many major trophies at club level, he was the man who led France to WC glory in Russia. However, the French national team captain still can be considered a bit underrated but one can’t place him too far behind from the likes of Neuer, Alisson, Courtois, Donnarumma and others.

Unai Simon:

Unai Simon has settled his place as the first choice goalie in the Spanish national team under Luis Enrique. He was picked over David De Gea at the Euro 2020 and proved his worth by helping Spain to reach the semifinal stage. After a shaky start, the Bilbao man put on some tremendous performances and played the most crucial part during the shoot-out victory against Switzerland. He also featured in the UNL semifinal and final and we expect him to continue his job as the first choice keeper for Enrique’s team in Qatar.

Jordan Pickford:

The current English number one is another underrated goal stopper. The Everton gloveman really did amazing job during the UEFA Euro 2020 and helped the side reaching final. He also saved a penalty during the shoot-out against Italy but back to back misses from the Three Lions young stars made him finish as the losing keeper. Pickford just conceded 2 goals during the Euro and if he continues to perform like this, he really does have a good chance of winning the Golden Glove.

Kasper Schmeichel:

Kasper is the worthy son of Peter Schmeichel. The current Denmark and Leicester City goal stopper has followed footsteps of his legendary father, former treble winning Man Utd gloveman Peter Schmeichel. Kasper fought wholeheartedly during Denmark’s FIFA WC defeat against Croatia in 2018. Then he was one of the main reasons behind Denmark reaching to the semifinal stage of European Championship. If the Denmark reaches semis in the FIFA WC 2022, Kapser will certainly have a healthy chance to win the mentioned award.

Special Mentions:

Portuguese keeper Patricio is still performing tremendously while Switzerland’s Yann Sommer is simply a superstar while playing for his country. Both of them were the main reasons why current world champions France couldn’t win the Euro in 2016 (defeat in final against Portugal) and in 2021 (defeat in RO16 against Switzerland). Our experts are rating Patricio and Sommer highly for this award.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *