Copa America Golden Ball Winners List (1916 – 2020)

Previously Known as The South American Football Championship now CONMEBOL Copa America is the main men’s football tournament from CONMEBOL. This tournament is the third most-watched competition. Being the oldest international football competition it determines the champions of South America. This Tournament consists of 12 teams among them 10 CONMEBOL teams and two additional teams from other confederations participate.

Copa America Golden Ball Winners

In each edition of the tournament, best player of the tournament is determined. Here we’ve made a list of Golden Ball winners of Copa America. Check it out: 

Year Host Golden Ball Winners
1916 Argentina Isabelino Gradín (Uruguay)
1917 Uruguay Héctor Scarone (Uruguay)
1919 Brazil Arthur Friedenreich (Brazil)
1920 Chile José Piendibene (Uruguay)
1921 Argentina Américo Tesoriere (Argentina)
1922 Brazil Agostinho Fortes Filho (Brazil)
1923 Uruguay José Nasazzi (Uruguay)
1924 Uruguay Pedro Petrone (Uruguay)
1925 Argentina Manuel Seoane (Argentina)
1926 Chile José Leandro Andrade (Uruguay)
1927 Peru Manuel Seoane (Argentina)
1929 Argentina Manuel Ferreira (Argentina)
1935 Peru José Nasazzi (Uruguay)
1937 Argentina Vicente de la Mata (Argentina)
1939 Peru Teodoro Fernández (Peru)
1941 Chile Sergio Livingstone (Chile)
1942 Uruguay Obdulio Varela (Uruguay)
1945 Chile Domingos da Guia (Brazil)
1946 Argentina Adolfo Pedernera (Argentina)
1947 Ecuador José Manuel Moreno (Argentina)
1949 Brazil Ademir (Brazil)
1953 Peru Heriberto Herrera (Paraguay)
1955 Chile Enrique Hormazábal (Chile)
1956 Uruguay Óscar Míguez (Uruguay)
1957 Peru Omar Sívori (Argentina)
1959 Argentina Pelé (Brazil)
1959 Ecuador Alcides Silveira (Uruguay)
1963 Bolivia Ramiro Blacut (Bolivia)
1967 Uruguay Pedro Rocha (Uruguay)
1975 Various Teófilo Cubillas (Peru)
1979 Various Carlos Caszely (Chile)
1983 Various Enzo Francescoli (Uruguay)
1987 Argentina Carlos Valderrama (Colombia)
1989 Brazil Rubén Sosa (Uruguay)
1991 Chile Leonardo Rodríguez (Argentina)
1993 Ecuador Sergio Goycochea (Argentina)
1995 Uruguay Enzo Francescoli (Uruguay)
1997 Bolivia Ronaldo (Brazil)
1999 Paraguay Rivaldo (Brazil
2001 Colombia Amado Guevara (Honduras)
2004 Peru Adriano (Brazil)
2007 Venezuela Robinho (Brazil)
2011 Argentina Luis Suárez (Uruguay)
2015 Chile Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2016 United States Alexis Sánchez (Chile)
2019 Brazil Dani Alves (Brazil)
2020 Brazil
Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Last 3 Golden Ball winner

Dani Alves – 2019

Born in Juazeiro, Brazil, Daniel Alves da Silva is a Brazil national team player who plays as an attacking midfielder. Being considered as one of the greatest right-backs of all time he also became the third most expensive defender of all time. Alves was afterward named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament and achieved the 40th title of his career in the 2019 edition if the Copa America.

Alexis Sánchez – 2016

Born on 19 December 1988, Alexis Alejandro Sánchez Sánchez is Chile national team’s professional forward player. Being team’s most capped player of all time, he is also the all-time leading goalscorer of the country with 45 goals. In June 2016, Sánchez was part of the Chile squad and was awarded the Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player.

Lionel Messi – 2015

Making his debut in 2005, Lionel Andrés Messi is considered as the best player in the world and is regarded as one of the greatest players of all time. Born and raised in central Argentina, he made 142 international appearances and scored 71 goals. He was selected to receive the Most Valuable Player award but he rejected the honor.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *