Africa Cup of Nations 2022 Prize Money

The Africa cup of nations is the main international men’s association football competition in Africa. It has been held every two years. The 2021 was scheduled to be the 33rd edition of the Africa Cup of Nations but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the schedule was changed. The tournament was originally scheduled to be played in June and July 2021, but the CAF announced on 15 January 2020 that the tournament would take place between 9 January and 6 February 2021. Soon after on 30 June 2020 CAF moved the tournament for the third time to January 2022.

Africa Cup of Nations Prize MoneyThe Preliminary rounds and two group stages qualifying rounds had been played between 9 October 2019 and 19 November 2019. The 3rd and 4th group stage qualifying rounds that were scheduled to take place respectively were postponed and all qualifying rounds rescheduled. On 30 June 2020 CAF announced the rescheduling of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations to January 2022.

A total of 24 teams will compete in the final tournament. Only the hosts will receive an automatic qualification spot, the other 23 teams will qualify through a qualification tournament. The 24 teams will be devided into six groups of four teams each. The teams in each group will play a single round robin. After the group stage, the top two teams from each group and the best third teams will advance to the round of 16. The winners will advance to the quarterfinals. The quarterfinal winners will advance to the semifinals. The semifinal losers will play in third place match, while semifinal winners will play in final.

The prize money of Africa Cup of Nations 2022 hasn’t been officially published yet it is an estimation depending on the previous tournament. The prize money could increase a little or could be a little less.

Africa Cup of Nations 2022 prize money

Stage Amount (Per Team) Amount (Total)
Winners $5m $5m
Runners-up $2.75 m $2.75 m
Third place $2m $2m
Fourth place $2m $2m
Quarter-finalists $800,000 $3.2m

The winners of Africa Cup of Nations will receive $5m with the losing team bag an amount of $2.75m. The third placing team will receive $2m and the forth placing teams also gets the same $2m. If a team gets knocked out from the quarter-final, such a country will be rewarded with $800,000. Teams that are knocked out before the quarter finals will not receive cash from CAF.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *