Lanka Premier League 2022 Prize Money

LPL Prize Money

The Lanka Premier League (LPL) is a Twenty20 cricket competition in Sri Lanka. The 2021 Lanka Premier League will be the second edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL). It was intended to be the premier Twenty20 league in the country, held by Sri Lanka Cricket. Its first season was held in 2012. The 2013 and 2014 seasons were canceled due to organizational problems and lack of sponsorship. After being rescheduled many times due to restrictions for the pandemic, the first season began on 26 November 2020.

The 2022 LPL is scheduled to be held in July-August 2022. The current title holders are the Jaffna Stallions, who won the inaugural season by defeating  Galle Gladiators by 53 runs in the final.

Tournament Director Ravin Wickramarathne said that they will be starting to prepare for their next tournament maybe in January, and hope to commence the tournament on 27 July and go on till 19 August with six teams. They want to introduce one team from Trinco (from the eastern part of the country) and they are hoping to make some changes to the compulsory rules. they are looking to get two International icon ‘A’ grade players into each team.

The LPL is a tournament that is compared with leagues like IPL. The LPL earns a good sum of money from the tournament. Gate receipts and tv broadcasting rights deliver a huge slice of the money. There are some big sponsors who also provide an amount of money for sponsorship purposes.

The Prize money list of the Lanka Premier League 2021 hasn’t been officially published. Based on the previous season of LPL a prize money list is given below:

Sling TV NFL
  • Key Channels Included: Willow HD, Willow Xtra
  • Cricket Events: ICC T20 World Cup, ICC Cricket World Cup, Pakistan Super League, Big Bash League, Indian Premier League, Caribbean Premier League, Minor League Cricket, & More
  • Price: Starting at $7/month for the first month 
We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

LPL T20 2022 Prize Money Distribution

Stage Amount
Champion $ 100,000
Runners-up $ 50,000
Player of the Final $ 2,500
Player of the Tournament $ 10,000
Emerging Player of LPL $ 2,000
Fairplay Award $ 2,500

The winners will receive the coveted trophy and prize money worth $100,000 along with the winners trophy. The runners-up will receive $ 50,000. There are some other individual awards given throughout the tournament. The Player of the tournament will bag $10,000 along with the player of the final receiving $ 2500. The emerging player of the LPL will receive $2,000 and a team will receive an amount of $2,500 which is called the Fairplay award.

There are also some bonuses given throughout the tournament. Like best bowler, best batsman and spirit of cricket award. These bonuses are distributed at the match endings.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *