IPL 2021 Prize Money

IPL PRIZE MONEYThe Indian premier league is a professional T20 league in India. This league starts between March and May every year. A total of 8 teams participate representing 8 cities or states in India with a total of 60 matches to be played. The IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world and has all the star players playing. Which makes this the most popular fan-following game.

Each team plays each other twice in a home-and-away round-robin format in the league phase.

Between those 8 teams, the top four teams will qualify for the playoffs. The top two teams will play against each other in the first Qualifying match. The winner going straight to the IPL final and the loser gets another chance to qualify for the IPL final by playing the second Qualifying match. The third and fourth place teams from the league play against each other in an eliminator match. The winner from that match will play the loser from the first Qualifying match. The winner of the second Qualifying match will move onto the final to play the winner of the first Qualifying match. That is how the winner will be determined.

The winner of the 2020 IPL T20 is Mumbai Indians. All previous IPL matches had been held in India. But due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the venue changed. The 2020 IPL matches were held in the United Arab Emirates. With 60 matches were still left to be played the IPL was suspeded due to Covid-19 cases. The remaining matches of the tournament would be played later in in September and October this year. This was announced On 29 May 2021 by BCCI.

Sling TV NFL
  • Key Channels Included: Willow HD, Willow Xtra
  • Cricket Events: ICC T20 World Cup, ICC Cricket World Cup, Pakistan Super League, Big Bash League, Indian Premier League, Caribbean Premier League, Minor League Cricket, & More
  • Price: Starting at $7/month for the first month 
We may earn a commission if you make a purchase, at no additional cost to you.

IPL 2021 Prize Money

Awards  Amount
Champion ₹20,00,00,000
Runners up ₹12,50,00,000
Losing Qualifiers ₹4,75,00,000
Losing Qualifiers ₹4,75,00,000
Super Striker of the season ₹10,00,000
Crack it sixes of the season ₹10,00,000
Power player of the season ₹10,00,000
Most valuable player ₹10,00,000
Game changer of the season ₹10,00,000
Emerging player ₹10,00,000
Purple Cap winner ₹10,00,000
Orange cap winner ₹10,00,000

The champion of the IPL will receive ₹20,00,00,000 and the runner-up will receive ₹12,50,00,000. There are two losing qualifiers and they both receive the same amount of prize money of ₹4,75,00,000. The other teams will not be awarded any prize money. The IPL rules mandate that half of the prize money must be distributed among the players. Based on the players performance throughout the whole season players gets awarded a huge prize in different categories. There are also awards given after each match finishes. The selected best matchmakers gets awarded.

There is a possiblity that the prize money could be redused to half due to Covid-19. As far we can tell The Board of Cricket Control of India (BCCI) has already decided this.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *