Switzerland Full Team Squad For FIFA World Cup 2022

Switzerland has been a regular side in the recent editions of the grand stage of world football. The side which failed to feature in 6 consecutive world cup finals in between 1970 to 1990, has taken part in the last 4 editions of the competition. The 2022 Qatar WC will be their 5th straight appearance in the biggest soccer competition in the world. In the 3 of their last 4 appearances the Swiss national team managed to go past the group stage. Here we will reveal the players’ chart who will represent Switzerland in the Qatar World Cup.


Switzerland Team Squad for FIFA WC 2022

Position Player Name Current Club
Goalkeeper Yann Sommer Borussia Mönchengladbach
Goalkeeper Gregor Kobel Borussia Dortmund
Goalkeeper Yvon Mvogo PSV Eindhoven
Defender Manuel Akanji Borussia Dortmund
Defender Nico Elvedi Borussia Mönchengladbach
Defender Fabian Schär Newcastle United
Defender Silvan Widmer FSV Mainz
Defender Ricardo Rodríguez Torino
Defender Loris Benito HNK Gorica
Defender Kevin Mbabu VFL Wolfsburg
Defender  Jordan Lotomba OGC Nice
Defender Eray Cömert FC Basel
Defender Becir Omeragic FC Zürich
Midfielder Granit Xhaka Arsenal
Midfielder Djibril Sow Eintracht Frankfurt
Midfielder Denis Zakaria Borussia Mönchengladbach
Midfielder Christian Fassnacht Young Boys
Midfielder Steven Zuber AEK Athens
Midfielder Ruben Vargas Augsburg
Midfielder Remo Freuler Atalanta
Midfielder Edimilson Fernandes Arminia Bielefeld
Midfielder Xherdan Shaqiri Olympique Lyon
Forward Haris Seferović SL Benfica
Forward Breel Embolo Borussia Mönchengladbach
Forward Mario Gavranović Kayserispor
Forward Admir Mehmedi VFL Wolfsburg

Manager: Murat Yakin.

Yann Sommer is not only the first choice goalkeeper of the Swiss side but also probably the most influential player in the team. The Borussia Monchengladbach star is an absolute asset for this team. He has been consistent in every mega event he has taken part for his country. In the last European Championship, he was the one of the main reasons behind knocking the world champion France out of the competition. Borussia Dortmund’s current number one keeper Gregor Kobel will be the 2nd choice keeper for Yakin and he is also a very very good goal stopper. While, PSV keeper Yvon Mvogo will be the 3rd option for the side.

Just like the former boss Petkovic, the current Swiss manager Murat Yakin is also expected to go with a 4 men back line. German Bundesliga duo Manuel Akanji and Nico Elvedi are well settled in the center back positions. If the duo remain fit, they should be the regular starter. Another Bundesliga defender Silvan Widmer who is currently playing for FSV Mainz will be the first choice right back. Former Wolfsburg man Ricardo Rodriguez who plays for Serie A club Torino at the moment, will be the prioritized left back. Fabian Schär and Kevin Mbabu should be handy alternative defending options for their boss.

In the midfield, captain Granit Xhaka and Atalanta star Remo Freuler should start from the core positions. Denis Zakaria will be another vital option and a good alternative. Greek side AEK Athens’ Steven Zuber is a regular starter. Although he mainly covers the upper part of the left side, he might be given a more defensive role against the stronger and more attacking oppositions. Xherdan Shaqiri is always a boss performer wearing his national shirt. He will be the key player in the attack for sure. The side will be hoping the Olympique Lyon man to continue his good run of form in mega events.

Haris Seferović will be the first choice forward. The SL Benfica striker is a pretty much consistent scorer for his national team. His brace against the world champions, inspired the side to knock the heavyweights out of the UEFA Euro. Breel Embolo would be his partner up front. Meanwhile, Mario Gavranovic and Admir Mehmedi will be used as the substitute options.

Predicted Starting Lineup:

Formation: 4-2-3-1.

Goalkeeper: Yann Sommer.

Defense: Silvan Widmer, Manuel Akanji, Nico Elvedi, Ricardo Rodriguez.

Midfield: Granit Xhaka, Remo Freuler, Xherdan Shaqiri, Steven Zuber.

Attack: Haris Seferovic, Breel Embolo.

Key Players:

Yann Sommer, Remo Freuler, Xherdan Shaqiri, Granit Xhaka, Haris Seferovic.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *