FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners of All Time

The Golden Ball award is presented to the best player at each FIFA World Cup finals, with a shortlist drawn up by the FIFA technical committee and the winner voted for by representatives of the media. The current award was introduced in the 1982 FIFA World Cup, sponsored by Adidas and France Football.

FIFA world cup golden ball winners all time

Here we’ve made a list of FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners of All Time:

Year Team Golden Ball winner
2018 Croatia Luka Modric
2014 Argentina Lionel Messi
2010 Uruguay Diego Forlán
2006 France Zinedine ZIDANE
2002 Germany Oliver KAHN
1998 Brazil RONALDO
1994 Brazil ROMÁRIO (Romário de Souza Faria)
1990 Italy Salvatore SCHILLACI
1986 Argentina Diego MARADONA
1982 Italy Paolo ROSSI
1978 Argentina Mario Kempes
1974 Netherlands Johan Cruyff
1970 Brazil Pelé
1966 England Bobby Charlton
1962 Brazil Garrincha
1958 Brazil Didi
1954 Hungary Ferenc Puskás
1950 Brazil Zizinho
1938 Brazil Leônidas
1934 Italy Giuseppe Meazza
1930 Uruguay José Nasazzi

Last 4 Golden Ball Winners :

2018 Luka Modric(Croatia)

Born on 9 September 1985 Luka Modrić is a Croatian professional footballer and plays as a midfielder. He is also the captain of Croatia. Following Darijo Srna’s retirement, Modrić became the new team captain. He was awarded the Golden Ball for the best player of the tournament. In 2018, he became the first Croatian player to win the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award, and Then he won The Best FIFA Men’s Player and Ballon d’Or awards. He became the first player other than Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo to claim the awards in more than a decade. In 2019, he was awarded the Golden Foot award.

2014 Lionel Messi(Argentina)

An Argentine professional footballer who plays as a forward and also is the captain of both Spanish club Barcelona and the Argentina national team. He is regarded as one of the best and greatest players in the world. Lionel Messi As the squad’s captain from August 2011, he led Argentina to three consecutive finals: the 2014 FIFA World Cup, for which he won the Golden Ball. For his efforts in 2011, he again received the FIFA Ballon d’Or, becoming only the fourth player in history to win the Ballon d’Or three times.

2010 Diego Forlán(Uruguay)

Born 19 May 1979 Diego Forlán Corazzo was an Uruguayan professional former player who played as a forward and currently he is the manager at Atenas de San Carlos. He had huge individual success at the 2010 World Cup. He finished as joint top scorer with five goals, including the goal of the tournament, and winning the Golden Ball as the tournament’s best player. He was also picked for the team of the tournament.

2006 Zinedine ZIDANE(France)

One of the most successful managers in the world Zinedine Yazid Zidane popularly known as Zizou is a French former professional football player who played as an attacking midfielder. His elegance, vision, passing, ball control, and technique made him a special playmaker. Zidane won the 1998 FIFA World Cup, scoring twice in the final, and was named to the All-Star Team. He also received the Golden Ball for Player of the Tournament at the 2006 World Cup.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *