Possible Golden Ball Winner in FIFA World Cup 2022

The Golden Ball award is presented to the best player of the FIFA World Cup finals. The most outstanding performers are selected by the FIFA Technical Committee while the nominees are voted by media representatives. The winner, 2nd and 3rd ranked players receive the golden ball, silver ball and the bronze ball respectively. This award is presented on the basis of performance, impact on the game as well as team’s success. Here we will talk about the possible Golden Ball winners of the 2022 Qatar World Cup.

Possible Candidates for the FIFA WC 2022 Golden Ball Award

Probable Candidates Country Current Club
Leo Messi Argentina Paris Saint-Germain
Joshua Kimmich Germany Bayern Munich
Kevin De Bruyne Belgium Manchester City
Neymar Brazil Paris Saint-Germain
Jorginho Italy Chelsea
Kylian Mbappe France Paris Saint-Germain
Antoine Griezmann France Atletico Madrid
Bruno Fernandes Portugal Manchester United
Raheem Sterling England Manchester City
Nicolo Barella Italy Inter Milan
Eden Hazard Belgium Real Madrid
Luka Modric Croatia Real Madrid
Virgil Van Djik Netherlands Liverpool
Joao Cancelo Portugal Manchester City
Gianluigi Donnarumma Italy Paris Saint-Germain
N’Golo Kante France Chelsea

Golden Ball Winner Prediction in FIFA World Cup 2022

Leo Messi:

When you are talking about “Player Of The Tournament” award, who else but Leo Messi comes first to your mind? However, the highest time Ballon d’Or winner has already tasted to win this award back in the 2014 FIFA WC. Despite this achievement his team got defeated in the final and then he was also chosen as the best player of the 2015 Copa America but refused to take it. Then in 2021, he finally won an international trophy with Argentina and also won the tournament’s best player as well as top scorer awards. Now he will be heading to Qatar with the hope of winning his desired trophy, the most prestigious title in soccer, the World Cup. And we are considering one of the potential candidates for the Golden Ball award.

Joshua Kimmich:

Odds will be pretty much high for this young German to win this prestigious award. The Bayern Munich star is a versatile player and is very much effective both in defense and attack. If Germany can reach far, Kimmich will have huge chance to grab this award. This guy can defend, can snatch the ball from opposition player, he helps in the build-up, can create chances and he can score as well.

Kevin De Bruyne:

This Belgian superstar is perhaps the most talented midfielder of his generation. You may not find him in the score sheet so often but he is the man who can run the game. KDB is considered a bit injury prone and with the form in the latest season, one may not take him that much seriously for the award. But one shouldn’t forget that the former Wolfsburg star is a player for the big occasions and can destroy any opposition on his days. We are seriously considering him as one of the front names in this list.


One of the most talented but unluckiest players in the history of the game. Neymar has been haunted by many serious injuries throughout his career. His value in the Brazil side was completely visible during his absentee in the 2014 WC semifinal when Brazil conceded 7 goals. Neymar also missed the 2019 Copa America but Brazil clinch the title on that occasion. He returned in the mega events with the 2021 Copa America and was the 2nd best performer of the tournament behind Leo but unfortunately he had to be pleased with the runners-up title. In 2022, Brazil will be keeping their eyes on Neymar for major success and he may prove to be the winner of the mentioned award.


He is simply a silent performer. Jorginho was instrumental in Chelsea’s 2020-21 UCL glory as well as Italy’s Euro victory. He was also one of the top names in the Ballon d’Or list. The most crucial fact about this guy is, he can perform on big occasions and is a very cool customer. We expect him to be one of the biggest names in the Qatar WC.

Kylian Mbappe:

This sprinting machine could easily be an Olympic runner if he wasn’t a footballer. This guy can run very fast, can dribble past top defenders, created chances and scores very consistently. He can destroy any defense line almost single handedly with his outrageous pace and speed. Mbappe was the winner of the “Young Player of the Tournament” in Russia and will be among the top names to win the “Player of the Tournament” in Qatar.

Antoine Griezmann:

Griezmann was perhaps the most crucial player in France’s 2018 WC victory. He is a sensational player but after moving to Barcelona, he wasn’t able to find the real version of himself. However, as soon as he returned to Atletico, once again he found his form and looks to be in serious form. Griezmann is a well experienced footballer and is pretty much clever as well. Thus he will have a huge chance to win this award.

Luka Modric:

He was the winner of the Golden Ball award in Russia and once again should be among the top contenders. However, his team requires to do well, if he is to reclaim his award. Croatia is a very good side and Modric is still performing at top level. Thus one simply can’t erase his name from the list.

Eden Hazard:

Injured? Unfit?? Out of Form??? Well, one may describe him with those mentioned adjectives but our experts have full faith on this incredibly skillful footballer. Hazard has been a true fighter throughout his career, has serious level skills and most importantly he has the ability to shine on big occasions when his side needs him the most. Thus, expect him to be back with a bang and he may surprise the haters with loads of goals and assists.

Bruno Fernandes:

Fernandes has been the most consistent and impactful player for Manchester United since joining the Red Devils. However, he hasn’t been that much good wearing the national shirt. If he can carry his club form into the Qatar WC, we really have a good possibility to see him grab this award.

Special Mentions:

Nicolo Barella, Raheem Sterling, Virgil Van Djik, Joao Cancelo, Gianluigi Donnarumma, N’Golo Kante.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *