Copa America Winners List (1916 – 2020)

Active since its formation in 1916, Copa America is the main men’s football tournament contested among national teams from CONMEBOL. It is the oldest international football competition and is the third most-watched competition. The Copa America is formerly known as the ”South American Football Championship”. The tournament was previously known as Campeonato Sudamericano de Futbol (South American Championship of Football). South American Championship of Nations was the official English language name. The current name has been used since 1975. Between 1975 and 1983 it had no host nation and was held in a home and away from fashion. The current final tournament features 12 national teams competing over a month in the host nation.

Copa America Winners list

List of Copa America champions along with runners-up and host countries.

Year Host Runner-up Winner
2020 Brazil Brazil Argentina
2019 Brazil Peru Brazil
2016 United States Argentina Chile
2015 Chile Argentina Chile
2011 Argentina Paraguay Uruguay
2007 Venezuela Argentina Brazil
2004 Peru Argentina Brazil
2001 Colombia Mexico Colombia
1999 Paraguay Uruguay Brazil
1997 Bolivia Bolivia Brazil
1995 Uruguay Brazil Uruguay
1993 Ecuador Mexico Argentina
1991 Chile Brazil Argentina
1989 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1987 Argentina Chile Uruguay
1983 Uruguay Brazil Uruguay
1979 Paraguay Chile Paraguay
1975 Peru Colombia Peru
1967 Uruguay Argentina Uruguay
1963 Bolivia Paraguay Bolivia
1959 Argentina Brazil Argentina
1959 Ecuador Argentina Uruguay
1957 Peru Brazil Argentina
1956 Uruguay Chile Uruguay
1955 Chile Chile Argentina
1953 Peru Brazil Paraguay
1949 Brazil Paraguay Brazil
1947 Ecuador Paraguay Argentina
1946 Argentina Brazil Argentina
1945 Chile Brazil Argentina
1942 Uruguay Argentina Uruguay
1941 Chile Uruguay Argentina
1939 Peru Uruguay Peru
1937 Argentina Brazil Argentina
1935 Peru Argentina Uruguay
1929 Argentina Paraguay Argentina
1927 Peru Uruguay Argentina
1926 Chile Argentina Uruguay
1925 Argentina Brazil Argentina
1924 Uruguay Argentina Uruguay
1923 Uruguay Argentina Uruguay
1922 Brazil Paraguay Brazil
1921 Argentina Brazil Argentina
1920 Chile Argentina Uruguay
1919 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1917 Uruguay Argentina Uruguay
1916 Argentina Argentina Uruguay

Last 3 Copa America winners:

2019 – Brazil

The 2019 Copa América was the 46th edition of the Copa América tournament that took place on 7 July 2019 at the Estádio do Maracanã in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The final was the third of Peru in which they had emerged to be champion two times in their history. It was Brazil’s nineteenth final in Copa América in which they had appeared as champions eight times. The last time Brazil was crowned champions were in the 2007 Copa América which was hosted in Venezuela, after defeating Argentina by 3 goals to 0.

2016 – Chile

The 2016 competition was a celebration of the centenary of CONMEBOL and the Copa América, and was the first Copa América hosted outside South America. The tournament was a commemorative version of Copa América (not the 45th edition). It was held as part of an agreement between CONMEBOL and CONCACAF as a special edition between the usual four-year cycle. The final match was contested by Argentina and Chile. Chile was the champion by defining Argentina in the final.

2015 – Chile

The 2015 Copa América was the 44th edition of the Copa América. Chile was the host country for this edition. This edition was the seventh hosted by Chile. The match marked the third time Chile had reached a final. They had never won the competition; their last final appearance was in 1987 when they were defeated by Uruguay. Chile won their first title by defeating Argentina in the final on a penalty shootout after a goalless draw. As winners, they qualified for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup in Russia.

Which National team has won the most Copa America title? 

Uruguay is the most successful Copa América team with 15 wins. Argentina has 14 titles and Brazil has nine. The other former champions are Paraguay, Peru and Chile, with two titles each

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *