UEFA Euro Golden Boot Winners List (1960 – 2020)

UEFA Euro tournaments are held every four years and organized by UEFA, the sport’s governing body in Europe. It is a high-scoring tournament with many exciting matches and a very high standard of play, Euro 2000 is often named by football writers as one of the greatest international tournaments ever.

UEFA Euro Golden Boot Winners

When players finish level on goals the following criteria are applied, in this order, to determine who wins the Adidas Golden Boot:

  1. a) highest number of assists;
  2. b) fewest minutes played.

NB: Only goals scored in normal or extra time count towards a player’s tournament total penalties scored in a shoot-out do not.

We’ve made a list of the winners of the UEFA Euro Golden Boot. Check it out:

Edition Player Name Team Goals Scored
2020 Cristiano Ronaldo Portugal 5 goals
2016 Antoine Griezmann France 6 goals
2012 Fernando Torres Spain 3 goals
2008 David Villa Spain 4 goals
2004 Milan Baros Czech Republic 5 goals

Savo Milosevic

Patrick Kluivert



5 goals
1996 Alan Shearer England 5 goals

Henrik Larsen

Karl-Heinz Riedle

Dennis Bergkamp

Tomas Brolin





3 goals
1988 Marco Van Basten Netherlands 5 goals
1984 Michel Platini France 9 goals
1980 Klaus Allofs West Germany 3 goals
1976 Dieter Muller West Germany 4 goals
1972 Gerd Muller West Germany 4 goals
1968 Dragan Dzajic Yugoslavia 2 goals

Ferenc Bene

Dezső Novák

Jesús María Pereda




2 goals

Francois Huette

Valentin Ivanov

Viktor Ponedelnik

Milan Galic

Drazan Jerkovic


Soviet Union

Soviet Union



2 goals
Last 4 Euro Golden boot winners

2016 – Antoine Griezmann(France) – 6 goals

Born on 21 March 1991, Antoine Griezmann is a French footballer who plays as a forward for the France national team. He finished as top goalscorer and voted as Player of the Tournament as France finished runner-up at UEFA Euro 2016. 1–0 defeat to Portugal in the final on 10 July, Griezmann won the Golden Boot as the tournament’s top scorer, with six goals and two assists in seven games, and was named the tournament’s best player, also being named to the team of the tournament. His tally of six goals at the tournament was second only to the nine goals by compatriot Michel Platini at UEFA Euro 1984.

2012 – Fernando Torres (Spain) – 3 goals

Fernando José Torres Sanz is a striker who plays for the national team Spain. He has participated in six major tournaments: UEFA Euro 2004, the 2006 FIFA World Cup, Euro 2008, the 2010 World Cup, Euro 2012, and the 2014 World Cup. Spain won the three tournaments from 2008 to 2012. He finished tied with five other players in the scoring chart at this summer’s tournament. Torres and Germany’s Mario Gomez also had one assist apiece, giving them the edge. The Golden Boot for the tournament was secured with three goals and one assist, having played fewer minutes than Mario Gómez, who also had three goals and one assist.

2008 – David Villa(Spain) – 4 goals

Born On 3 December 1981 David Villa Sánchez is a striker who played for national team Spain. he retired from the national team with 59 goals in 98 matches, which made him Spain’s all-time top goalscorer as well as the country’s top scorer in the World Cup, with nine goals. Villa’s four goals in the four games he played were enough for him to be top scorer of the tournament and was awarded the Golden Boot.

2004 – Milan Baros(Czech Republic) – 5 goals

A Czech footballer who plays as a striker for national team Czech Republic Milan Baros is a euro Golden Boot as top scorer of the Euro 2004. He went on to play in three more major international tournaments. His 41 goals for the Czech Republic is second behind only Jan Koller.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *